Michael P. Jankowski, PhD

Assistant Professor, UC Department of Pediatrics

Phone 513-803-7966

Email michael.jankowski@cchmc.org

Chronic pain; neurodevelopmental diseases

Visit the Jankowski Lab.

Dr. Jankowski joined the faculty in the Department of Anesthesia/Division of Pain Management at Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center in November of 2011. Previously, he had been awarded both pre-doctoral (2006) and postdoctoral National Research Service Awards (2008) prior to becoming faculty at the University of Pittsburgh. While a member of the Department of Neurobiology at the University of Pittsburgh, he presented several public presentations including one seminar titled, “Interfering with the Molecular Mechanisms of Pain” at the Center for Neuroscience at the University of Pittsburgh’s  Annual Retreat in 2009, and another titled, ”Preparation and Delivery of siRNAs to Sensory Neurons” at the International Association for the Study of Pain’s Satellite Symposium: “Nociceptors: New Biology” in Edinburgh, Scotland in 2008.

Dr. Jankowski has also been the recent recipient of two NIH grants in 2013: one from the Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (R03HD077483) and another from the National Institute of Arthritis, and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases (R01AR064551). He also is a Rita Allen Scholar and was recently named a Cincinnati Children's Trustee Scholar. In addition, Dr. Jankowski is on the training faculty in the graduate program in neuroscience, and in the Molecular and Developmental Biology Graduate Program. He is currently a member of the Society for Neuroscience, the International Association for the Study of Pain, the Society for Pediatric Anesthesia, and the American Pain Society. 

MS: Neuroscience, University of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA, 2003.

PhD: Neurobiology, University of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA, 2006.

Postdoctoral Training: University of Pittsburgh, 2006-2010.

Jankowski MP, Rau KK, Ekmann KM, Anderson CE, Koerber HR. Comprehensive phenotyping of group III and IV muscle afferents in mouseJ. Neurophys. 2013; 109: 2374-2381. 

Jankowski MP, Anderson W, Anderson CE, Koerber HR. Dynamic changes in heat transducing channel TRPV1 expression regulate mechanically insensitive, heat sensitive C-fiber recruitment after axotomy and regeneration. J. Neurosci. 2012; 32: 17869-73. 

Jankowski MP, Rau KK, Soneji DJ, Anderson CE, Molliver DC, Koerber HR. Purinergic receptor P2Y1 regulates polymodal C-fiber thermal sensitivity during peripheral inflammation. Pain. 2012; 153:410-9.

Li L, Rutlin M, Abraira V, Cassidy C, Jankowski MP, Luo W, Heintz N, Koerber HR, Woodbury CJ, Ginty DD. The functional organization of cutaneous low-threshold mechanosensory neurons. Cell. 2011; 147: 1615-27.

Molliver DC, Rau KK, McIlwrath SL, Jankowski MP, Koerber HR. The ADP receptor P2Y1 is necessary for normal thermal sensitivity in cutaneous polymodal nociceptors. Mol. Pain. 2011; 7: 13.

Koerber HR, McIlwrath SL, Lawson JJ, Malin SA, Anderson CE, Jankowski MP, Davis BM. Mouse cutaneous C-fibers lacking TRPV1 are sensitized to heat following peripheral inflammation. Molecular Pain. 2010; 6: 58.

Jankowski MP, Rau KK, Soneji DJ, Anderson CE, Koerber HR. Enhanced artemin/GFRa3 levels regulate mechanically insensitive, heat sensitive C-fiber recruitment after axotomy and regeneration. J. Neurosci. 2010; 30: 16272-83.

Rau KK, McIlwrath SL, Wang H, Lawson JJ, Jankowski MP, Zylka MJ, Anderson DJ, Koerber HR. Mrgprd enhances excitability in specific populations of cutaneous murine polymodal nociceptors. J. Neurosci. 2009; 29: 8612-9.

Jankowski MP, McIlwrath SL, Cornuet PK, Jing X, Salerno KM, Koerber HR, Albers KM. Sox11 transcription factor regulates peripheral nerve regeneration in the adult. Brain Res. 2009b; 1256: 43-54.

Jankowski MP, Lawson JJ, McIlwrath SL, Rau KK, Anderson CE, Albers KM, Koerber HR. Sensitization of cutaneous nociceptors following nerve transection and regeneration: Possible role of target derived neurotrophic factor signaling. J. Neurosci. 2009a; 29: 1636-47.

Mechanisms of muscle afferent sensitization after ischemia. Principal Investigator. NIH/NIAMS

Mechanisms of postnatal cutaneous afferent development during inflammation. Principal Investigator. NIH/NICHD

Developmental plasticity of cutaneous sensory neurons. Principal Investigator. Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center TAPS

Molecular mechanisms of musculoskeletal pain. Principal Investigator. Rita Allen Foundation Award In Pain.

Peripheral mechanisms of musculoskeletal pain after ischemic tissue injury. Principal Investigator. International Society for the Study of Pain, Early Career Grant.