A photo of Jennifer Kaplan.

Jennifer M. Kaplan, MD, MS

Associate Professor, UC Department of Pediatrics

Phone: 513-636-4259


Show All


Intensive care; respiratory failure; multi-organ failure; sepsis; trauma; inflammation; obesity; PPARg

Visit the Kaplan Lab.


My long-term career goal is to improve the outcomes of critically ill children. I began my research career in fellowship studying sepsis, driven by the realization that there are few clinical therapies that improve outcomes in critically ill children with severe infections. I focused on the nuclear receptor PPARg as a potential target to alter the sepsis-induced inflammatory state. PPARg is a nuclear receptor with effects on lipid and glucose metabolism, atherosclerosis and inflammation. I elected to extend my fellowship a fourth year to complete training in molecular epidemiology and the Master of Science program at the University of Cincinnati Academic Health Center. I received grant funding from the Translational Research Initiative and the NIH K12 Child Health Research Career Development Award at Cincinnati Children's to investigate the alteration of PPARg in peripheral blood cells from children with sepsis. I am a recipient of an NIH Mentored Clinical Scientist Research Career Development Award (K08).

Education and Training

MS: Epidemiology, University of Cincinnati College of Medicine, Cincinnati, OH.

MD: University of Cincinnati, Cincinnati, OH, 1999.

BA: Washington University in St. Louis, St. Louis, Missouri.

Fellowship: Pediatric Critical Care Medicine, Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center, Cincinnati, OH.

Residency: Pediatrics, Orlando Regional Healthcare, Orlando, FL.

Certification: Pediatric Critical Care Medicine, Pediatrics.


View PubMed Publications


Pioglitazone in Adolescents with Severe Sepsis and Septic Shock. Institutional Award Recipient. CCTST Junior T1 Pilot Award. Jun 2011-May 2012.

PPAR gamma in pediatric sepsis and the inflammatory response in obesity. Principal Investigator. NIH-K08GM093135. Apr 2010-Mar 2014.