Anjaparavanda P. Naren, PhD

Thomas Boat Chair in Cystic Fibrosis Research

Co-Director, Cystic Fibrosis Research Center

Professor, UC Department of Pediatrics

Phone: 513-803-4731


Show All


Cystic fibrosis; secretory diarrhea.


Cystic Fibrosis Transmembrane Conductance Regulator (CFTR) is a cAMP-regulated chloride channel located primarily on the apical surface of epithelial cells that line various organs, including the airways and the gut. CFTR dysfunction is detrimental and may result in life-threatening medical disorders. Dr. Naren's laboratory studies two such disorders; (1) Cystic fibrosis, a lethal genetic disease that affects mostly the Caucasian population (>30,000 in USA), in which the CFTR chloride channel is HYPO-functional and (2) Secretory diarrhea, a disease affecting millions of children worldwide, in which HYPER-function of the CFTR chloride channel can occur due to infectious toxins, such as Cholera toxin and E. coli enterotoxin. His lab is interested in identifying interactions between CFTR and its binding partners and defining how spatiotemporal regulation of CFTR-containing macromolecular complexes in the apical compartment of polarized epithelial cells lining the secretory epithelia regulates overall fluid secretion. Our studies will identify new drug targets for cystic fibrosis, secretory diarrhea, and other diseases resulting from CFTR dysfunction and provide insights into the etiology of diseases associated with CFTR-interacting molecules.

Education and Training

PhD: Biochemistry, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, India, 1993.


View PubMed Publications


LPA2-receptor containing complexes in regulating secretory diarrhea. Principal Investigator. National Institutes of Health. July 2011 - June 2015. DK093045.

Inhibition of a cAMP transporter (MRP4) in the gut induces diarrheaPrincipal Investigator. National Institutes of Health. June 2009 - Apr 2018. DK080834.

Using mouse Intestinal Stem Cells (ISC) to study CTFR correctors and/or potentiators. Principal Investigator. Vetex-Concept Award. Oct 2013 - Sep 2014.