Immunology Graduate Training Program

  • International Research Training Group (IRTG)

    An IRTG has been established between the Immunology Graduate Program and the University of Lübeck/Research Center Borstel in Lübeck, Germany. 

    The research focus of the IRTG is

    1. Humoral and Cellular Pathways of Allergic Inflammation
    2. Immuno-regulation of infection-driven inflammation

    Students interested in research projects encompassed by these areas may have the opportunity to study and perform research in the beautiful city of Lübeck in north-central Germany for a 3-6 month period. For more information please see our website.

  • A view of the city of Lübeck, Germany, with the spires of the Church of St. Mary, center, and St. Peter's Church.
    Despite the damage it suffered during the Second World War, the basic structure of the 15th and 16th century old city remains unaltered.
    Lübeck is inseparable from water. The Old Town Island is enclosed by rivers and canals explore the Trave River and this port city.
    Shopping in Lübeck isn't just done indoors. There are weekly markets and a tourist market right at the foot of the Town Hall and pracally every district has its own weekly market.
    Take a tour of the alleys and courtyards in Lübeck's Old Town. They are the remains of the medieval urban development.
    Luebecks appearance is still characterized by a medieval ambience.
    At the research center in Borstel you can relax in a more rural green of Germany.
    Because of its Brick Gothic architectural heritage, Luebeck is listed by UNESCO as a World Heritage Site.
    Roadside walkway outside Borstel
  • Immunobiology Graduate Program Faculty participating in the IRTG
    Immunology Graduate Program Faculty participating in the IRTG.

    Click image for faculty names.

    Immunology Graduate Program Faculty participating in the IRTG

    Immunobiology Graduate Program Faculty participating in the IRTG

    Left to Right: Simon Hogan, PhD; Senad Divanovic, PhD; Ian Lewkowich, PhD; Edith Janssen, PhD; Fred Finkelman, MD; Claire Chougnet, PhD; David Hildeman, PhD; George Deepe, MD; Arnold Strauss, MD; and Julio Aliberti, PhD.  Absent: Kasper Hoebe, PhD.  

    Picture taken at the University of Lubeck.