• About the Louise W. Rauh, MD Scholarship Award

    Louise W. Rauh was born in Cincinnati, Ohio and graduated from the University of Cincinnati College of Medicine in 1928. Rauh practiced pediatrics for over 50 years and made very important, pioneering contributions to the delivery of pediatric care in the Cincinnati area. She also spent 48 years teaching at the University of Cincinnati College of Medicine where she was an inspiration to countless medical students, residents & health professionals. Rauh died in 1991 at the age of 88. Read More.

    In 1990, the Women’s Faculty Association of the Department of Pediatrics established a scholarship in her honor, which is awarded annually to a fourth-year medical student at the University of Cincinnati. The Louise Rauh Scholarship is awarded based on excellence in academic performance, leadership skills, community service, research, and financial need.

  • Current Recipient of the Scholarship Award

    Stephan Dixon is the recipient of the 2015 Louise Rauh Scholarship, presented annually by the Women’s Faculty Association of the Department of Pediatrics.

    A member of the 2015 class of the UC College of Medicine, Mr. Dixon’s academic performance has been outstanding. His clinical evaluations describe him as an eager and engaged learner. Mr. Dixon was inducted into both Alpha Omega Alpha and the Gold Humanism Honor Society. He also won the Robert Swaim Memorial Award from his classmates in years 1 and 2 of medical school. This award is given to the student who makes the first two years of medical school “enjoyable to all” through unselfish leadership and peer teaching. He has been very involved in peer teaching and tutoring, but has also found time to run marathons and play competitive sand volleyball. Stephan has served on various committees and volunteer groups, too numerous to name them all, but including the UC Med Mentors program and the Ronald McDonald house. He also has participated in research in the areas of ophthalmology, radiology, and neurology, leading to several publications. Stephan recently matched into an Ophthalmology residency position at UC.

  • Past Recipients of the Scholarship Award

    Recipients of the Louise W. Rauh Graduation Award (1991 - Present)

    • 2014   Esther Chang 
    • 2013   David Moon
    • 2012   Kathryn Hitchcock
    • 2011   Elinor Lee
    • 2010   Jared Carson Bentley
    • 2009   Gerald Cho
    • 2008   Robin Theresa Petroze
    • 2007   Justin W. Smith and Julie Thistlethwaite
    • 2006   Callisia Nathelee Clarke and Jessica Beegan
    • 2005   Brian Postma and Shana Alexander
    • 2004   Kara Ann Tencza
    • 2003   Jennifer Ernst and Nicole Baldwin
    • 2002   Deborah Bradley and Adam Mussman
    • 2001   Karyn Marie Dyehouse
    • 2000   Nicole Thorpe
    • 1999   George Papacostas
    • 1998   Malini Gillen
    • 1997   Kimberly Renee Shirley
    • 1996   Elissa Falzetta
    • 1995   John Kunkel
    • 1994   Nicole Grunenberg / Ryan
    • 1993   Alberta Henderson
    • 1992   Andrea DeLaat
    • 1991   Joseph Bailey