Significant Accomplishments

EPIC Conversion Goes Smoothly During High-Volume Year

Our Department spent much of the year preparing to convert from one electronic anesthesia information system (Centricity) which it has used for eight years to another, EPIC, to integrate with the hospital on an enterprise-wide system. Joseph Previte MD, Beth Townsend, Jeff Werner, Vicki Bitter, Tom Ludwig, and Chad Garrett led the implementation process. The go-live went very smoothly. During the preparation for go-live, the department set volume records for general and regional anesthetics, consultations in pain management and palliative care, and clinical productivity. These efforts allowed us to reach our strategic plan goal for faculty productivity one year early.

More Than 120 Papers and Presentations, 13 New Grants

Our Department continued to be recognized nationally as a leader in pediatric anesthesia research and education. Our faculty members delivered 70 lectures nationally and internationally; authored 70 research papers, review articles and book chapters; presented 57 research abstracts at national and international meetings; and were awarded 13 extramural research grants. Steve Danzer, PhD, Mike Jankowski, PhD, Andreas Loepke, MD, PhD, Mohamed Mahmoud, MD, Dave Richards, PhD, Senthil Sadhasivam, MD, and Anna Varughese, MD, MPH, led the research efforts. The Society for Pediatric Anesthesia awarded Raj Subramanyam, MD, and Vanessa Olbrecht, MD, first prizes for resident and faculty research, respectively, for their studies on mortality after tonsillectomy and morphine pharmacogenetics.

Strong Year for Fellowship Recruitment

Fellowship directors Paul Samuels, MD, and Smokey Clay, MD, recruited 12 outstanding fellows into the core fellowship program. Meanwhile, Norb Weidner, MD, Alex Szabova, MD, Anna Varughese, MD, MPH, John McAuliffe, MD, DABNM, Paul Samuels, MD and Lori Aronson, MD recruited fellows into the palliative care, pain medicine, quality and safety, neurophysiological monitoring, education, and cardiac anesthesia advanced fellowship programs.

Faculty Members Play National Leadership Roles

Several of our faculty members hold significant national leadership positions. John McAuliffe, MD, DABNM, was elected president of the Society of Neurophysiological Monitoring. Anne Boat, MD, was appointed Patient Experience Officer at Cincinnati Children’s. Dean Kurth, MD, serves on the boards for the Society for Pediatric Anesthesia and the journal Pediatric Anesthesia and is president of the Pediatric Anesthesia Leadership Council. Paul Samuels, MD, and Lori Aronson, MD, lead board exam review courses for the Society for Pediatric Anesthesia and American Physician Company.