• Meet the Team

    The Asthma Center, part of the Division of Pulmonary Medicine, is home to specialists with a wide variety of backgrounds and areas of focus. As a team, this diversity makes us better prepared to care for your child’s unique needs. Learn more about our faculty and staff.

  • A photo of Carolyn Kercsmar.

    Carolyn M. Kercsmar, MD Co-Director, Division of Pulmonary Medicine 513-636-6771

    A photo of Theresa Guilbert.

    Theresa W. Guilbert, MD, MS Associate Director, Asthma Center 513-803-0493

    A photo of Julie Malkin.

    Julie R. Malkin, MSN, APRN, CNP Nurse Practitioner, Division of Pulmonary Medicine 513-636-6771

    A photo of Karen McDowell, MD.

    Karen M. McDowell, MD Director, Infant Pulmonary Function Lab 513-636-6771

  • Additional Staff

    Show All
    Valerie A. Sackenheim, RN II
    (Supporting Dr. Kercsmar)
    Ambulatory Srvs. / Pulmonary
    Certified Asthma Educator, CPN
    513-636-6771
    valerie.sackenheim@cchmc.org

    Shannon Deidesheimer, BSN, RN, AE-C
    (Supporting Dr. McDowell)
    Ambulatory Srvs. / Pulmonary
    Certified Asthma Educator
    513-636-6771
    shannon.deidesheimer@cchmc.org

    Janice Gramke, RN I
    (Supporting Julie Malkin)
    Ambulatory Srvs. / Pulmonary
    513-636-6771
    janice.gramke@cchmc.org

    Jennifer Tubbs, RN
    (Supporting Dr. Durrani)
    Ambulatory Srvs. / Standby (Allergy)
    513-636-9728
    jennifer.tubbs@cchmc.org

    Alyssa Mohr, RN
    (Supporting Dr. Guilbert)
    Ambulatory Srvs. / Pulmonary
    513-636-6771
    alyssa.mohr@cchmc.org

    Heather Hayes, RN II
    (Supporting Dr. Durrani)
    Ambulatory Srvs. / Allergy
    513-636-9728
    heather.hayes@cchmc.org
    Chuck Grone, RT III, MS
    Asthma Center
    513-636-6771
    charles.grone@cchmc.org
    Rachel Sackenheim, MSW, LISW
    Pulmonary Social Worker, Division of Pulmonary Medicine
    513-803-2712
    rachel.sackenheim@cchmc.org
    Rita Havrilla
    Administrative Assistant to:
    Dr. Kercsmar, Dr. McDowell, Dr. Guilbert & Julie Malkin
    513-636-6771
    rita.havrilla@cchmc.org

    Angela Parker
    Administrative Assistant to: Sandy Durrani
    513-636-9728
    angela.parker@cchmc.org
    Lisa Gu, CSQE
    Application Specialist, Asthma Center
    513-636-2052
    lijuan.gu@cchmc.org
    Gregg E. Sabla, B.S, M.Ed.
    Project Manager/ Asthma Center
    513-803-1769
    gregg.sabla@cchmc.org