Robin Cotton, MD, is one of only nine scientists since 1960 to receive the William Cooper Procter Medallion, the highest honor bestowed by Cincinnati Children’s. A dinner in Cotton’s honor will be held in February.

The award was created in 1960 by A. Ashley Weech, MD, chair of pediatrics at Cincinnati Children’s from 1941 to 1963. Albert Sabin, MD -- inventor of the oral polio vaccine -- was the first recipient. The most recent recipient was Jeff Whitsett, MD,  honored in 1996 for his role in developing artificial surfactant, which has dramatically improved survival rates for preterm infants.

Cotton, who recently stepped down as director of Pediatric Otolaryngology/Head and Neck Surgery, built the world’s premier center for diagnosing and treating airway abnormalities at Cincinnati Children’s. The center serves more than 33,000 outpatient visits and performs more than 11,000 procedures a year.

Tom Cody, chairman of the board at Cincinnati Children’s, announced the honor on Nov. 26. “Dr. Cotton is a remarkable innovator, surgeon, educator and leader, whom families from around the world have traveled to see for tracheal reconstruction surgery.”

Past Winners of the William Cooper Procter Medallion

  • Albert Sabin, MD
  • Ashley Weech, MD
  • Robert Lyon, MD
  • Edward Pratt, MD
  • Josef Warkany, MD
  • Waldo Nelson, MD
  • William Schubert, MD
  • Jeffrey Whitsett, MD