James M Anderson Center for Health Systems Excellence
Quality Scholars Program

Quality Scholars Program Develops Healthcare Leaders

The Quality Scholars Program in the Anderson Center is developing researchers and leaders who will transform pediatric health and healthcare delivery. Program goals include developing faculty to create effective healthcare delivery system interventions that can be disseminated into real-world practice settings, directly resulting in improved health outcomes.

Our unique Quality Scholars Program challenges participants to:

  • Design, develop, test, sustain, scale, and evaluate effective interventions in healthcare delivery
  • Undertake research that creates new knowledge and translates evidence of improved approaches in healthcare settings
  • Teach improvement science methodologies and lead organizations engaged in continuous improvement
  • Engage in learning health networks to accelerate innovation and improvement across populations


We seek postdoctoral scholars to participate in the Quality Scholars Program. Eligible candidates include:

  • Postdoctoral scholars in pediatric healthcare specializing in medicine, surgery, public health, the social sciences, nursing, pharmacy and other allied health areas
  • Faculty and fellows

Our program aims to increase diversity and representation among healthcare leaders and researchers. We work to create equitable conditions for growth and an inclusive learning environment for all. Please read more about our institutional DEI efforts here.

Program Components

The Quality Scholars Program at Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center includes:

  • Strong methodologic training in health services research and quality-improvement methods (including quality-improvement research methods of study design and analysis, planned experimentation in complex systems, statistical process control, and product and process design
  • Series of mentored research / improvement projects
  • Exposure to a wide range of high-impact areas of study including innovation in nonhealthcare industry settings
  • Leadership training and multidisciplinary team work

The training period will be two to three years. The duration of the training program may be reduced if a candidate already has an MS, MPH, PhD or DrPH in a relevant field.

How can I participate? Applications accepted annually. Applicants should submit a CV, personal statement and three recommendation letters.

For more information, contact: Sarah Corathers, MD, Program Director, or email qualityscholars@cchmc.org.

(From left) Samuel Hanke, Erika Stalets, Heather Tubbs Cooley, Erin Redle, Marielle Kabbouche, Brandon Aylward, program director Evaline Alessandrini and Anderson Center coordinator April Mack-Williams.

Celebrating graduating Quality Scholars: (from left) Philip Knollman, Matt Molloy, Jennifer Treasure, Sarah Corathers (Program Director) and Mickey Daugherty

Program Leadership

Sarah Corathers, MD, program director

James M. Anderson Center for Health Systems Excellence Faculty

Advisory Committee

Uma Kotagal, MBBS, MSc, executive leader, population and community health; and senior fellow, Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center