Women’s Faculty Association
Rauh Scholarship

About the Louise W. Rauh, MD Scholarship Award

Louise W. Rauh was born in Cincinnati, Ohio and graduated from the University of Cincinnati College of Medicine in 1928. Rauh practiced pediatrics for over 50 years and made very important, pioneering contributions to the delivery of pediatric care in the Cincinnati area. She also spent 48 years teaching at the University of Cincinnati College of Medicine where she was an inspiration to countless medical students, residents & health professionals. Rauh died in 1991 at the age of 88.

In 1990, the Women’s Faculty Association of the Department of Pediatrics established a scholarship in her honor, which is awarded annually to a fourth-year medical student at the University of Cincinnati. The Louise Rauh Scholarship is awarded based on excellence in academic performance, leadership skills, community service, research, and financial need.

Current Recipient of the Scholarship Award

A photo of Katelyn Gordon.As a member of the 2019 class of the University of Cincinnati College of Medicine (UCCOM), Ms. Gordon has demonstrated outstanding academic performance, and her clinical evaluations described her as a student with whom “all staff were impressed and truly wish to see her in our workplace for many years to come!”

Ms. Gordon also has excelled outside of the classroom. During medical school she conducted research under the supervision of faculty in pediatric gastroenterology and obesity medicine resulting in two first authored publications, national and international presentations, and an award for best original science presentation at the Region V Academic Pediatric Association Meeting. She has also been involved in several volunteer and community service activities including Women Leading Healthy Change where she taught a mental health course to residents in a women’s shelter, and later worked as co-director of the organization. Additionally, Ms. Gordon mentors and tutors middle school STEM students and UC medical students, and serves as a UCCOM student representative on the Financial Aid Advisory Committee and as class co-chair of the Student Wellness Committee. Ms. Gordon was awarded the Golden Scalpel Award given to gross anatomy students for excellence in dissection techniques. Ms. Gordon will continue her medical training as a resident in Pediatrics with plans to pursue a career in academic pediatrics.

The Rauh Scholarship honors Louise W. Rauh, MD. A 1928 graduate of the University of Cincinnati College of Medicine, Dr. Rauh practiced Pediatrics in Cincinnati’s Northside community from 1934-1950. She then joined the faculty of the Department of Pediatrics at Cincinnati General Hospital where she continued working until 1985. She founded both the Newborn Service and the Pediatric Cardiology Clinic. She educated, mentored, and inspired students at the College of Medicine. She also continued to provide excellent care for the children of Cincinnati through the Babies’ Milk Fund Clinics.

Past Recipients of the Scholarship Award

  • 2018 Taylor Brooks
  • 2017 Richard Godby
  • 2016 Emily Hautman
  • 2015 Stephan Dixon
  • 2014 Esther Chang
  • 2013 David Moon
  • 2012 Kathryn Hitchcock
  • 2011 Elinor Lee
  • 2010 Jared Carson Bentley
  • 2009 Gerald Cho
  • 2008 Robin Theresa Petroze
  • 2007 Justin W. Smith and Julie Thistlethwaite
  • 2006 Callisia Nathelee Clarke and Jessica Beegan
  • 2005 Brian Postma and Shana Alexander
  • 2004 Kara Ann Tencza
  • 2003 Jennifer Ernst and Nicole Baldwin
  • 2002 Deborah Bradley and Adam Mussman
  • 2001 Karyn Marie Dyehouse
  • 2000 Nicole Thorpe
  • 1999 George Papacostas
  • 1998 Malini Gillen
  • 1997 Kimberly Renee Shirley
  • 1996 Elissa Falzetta
  • 1995 John Kunkel
  • 1994 Nicole Grunenberg / Ryan
  • 1993 Alberta Henderson
  • 1992 Andrea DeLaat
  • 1991 Joseph Bailey

How to Apply

Application Process

Applicants must be current University of Cincinnati College of Medicine (UCCOM) fourth year medical students that are in the top one-third of the class at the end of third year. Applicants may be male or female and may be pursuing careers in medicine other than pediatrics, including academic or non-academic. There is no residency requirement. Applications are available through the Student Affairs office at UCCOM and the request for applications is generally sent out as an all-class email in early September each year. For more information or questions please contact:

A photo of Jennifer Reed, MD. 

Jennifer Reed, MD
Chair, Rauh Scholarship Committee

Contact Us

For more information or comments about the WFA, contact any of the current officers: 

Lynn Babcock, MD, MS

Barbara Chini, MD

Melissa Gerstle, PhD