Meet the Team

The Faculty and Healthcare Educator Leadership Team at Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center was established under the leadership of Thomas G. DeWitt, MD, Medical Director of the Division Director of General and Community Pediatrics.

The Leadership Team consists of the following members:

Thomas Dewitt, MD
Institutional DIO and Chair, GME 

Javier Gonzalez del Rey, MD, MEd
Director, Pediatric Residency Program

Daniel J. McLinden, EdD
Senior Director, Training and Development

Lorna Frank, MSN, RN-BC
Education Consultant, Center for Professional Excellence / Education

Chris Peltier, MD
Community Section Director, General & Community Pediatrics

Melissa Klein, MD, MEd
Education Section Director, General & Community Pediatrics

Jennifer O'Toole, MD, MEd
Medical Director of Education, Hospital Medicine

Laura Werts, MS
Director, Continuing Medical Education

The Faculty Development Committee is responsible for the following activities:

  • Perform needs assessment for faculty development programs, program topics and speakers
  • Plan and implement activities in support of faculty development
  • Encourage and facilitate continual professional growth for the purpose of strengthening the faculty's teaching skills
  • Provide means for the faculty to carry out developmental activities in all areas of faculty functions, focusing on academic excellence
  • Identify grant support for faculty development activities that do not have other means of support within Cincinnati Children's
  • Review and evaluate the effectiveness of faculty development activities
  • Create an annual budget and action agenda.


  • Raymond C Baker, MD, MEd
  • Thomas Dewitt, MD
  • Emanuel Doyne, MD
  • Jill Guilfoile, BSN, MEd
  • Kadriye O Lewis, EdD
  • Daniel J. McLinden, EdD
  • Lisa M. Vaughn, PhD
  • Corinne Lehmann, MD
  • Mary Catherine Lee, RN, MSN